Philippines 2022 General Elections – Important Dates, Candidates & News

The 2022 Philippines general elections will be conducted on 9 th May 2022, the Philippine
presidential & vice-presidential elections will be held as part of the general elections on the same
day. The 2022 general elections of Philippines will be the 17 th direct presidential elections & the
16 th vice-presidential elections in the Philippines. The elections will decide the candidates who
will occupy the offices of the President & Vice-President of Philippines for the next 6 years. The
leading candidates in the run for the president’s office are Ferdinand Marcos Jr. & current Vice-
President Leni Robredo.

Philippines 2022 General Elections – Important Dates, Candidates & News

Along with the elections to decide the next President & Vice-President, as part of the general
elections, elections will also be held to decide the 12 seats to the Senate, 316 seats of the House
of Representatives, 81 governors & vice-governors, 782 seats in provincial boards, 146 city
mayors & vice-mayors, 1,650 seats of all city councils, 1,488 municipal mayors & vice-mayors
and 11,908 seats of municipal councils of all municipalities. The 2022 Philippine general
election will take place on May 9, 2022, for executive and legislative branches of the
government – national, provincial, and local officials with the exception of barangay officials.
According to the 1987 Philippine Constitution, each president is limited to serve only a single-
term of 6 years as the president, anyone who has already served as the President of Philippines is
ineligible for re-election. As the positions of the president & vice-president are elected as
separate positions, the winning candidates may not necessarily belong to the same party. The
2022 presidential elections in Philippines is the first presidential elections in which all the
candidates running for president were born after the end of World War II.
The opinion polls for the 2022 Philippines Presidential Elections put Ferdinand Marcos Jr. of
PFP (Federal Party of the Philippines) as having the upper hand ahead of the elections with an
average 52 to 59% voters in his favour. Leni Robredo, who is running as an independent
candidate is second with around 18-28% voters opining in her favour. Other candidates include
former boxing champion Manny Pacquiao and actor Isko Moreno who have 8 to 12% of votes in
their favour according to the opinion polls.
Important Dates for 2022 Philippines General & Presidential Elections
 Election Period – 9 th January 2022 to 8 th June 2022
 Start of Campaign Period for Nationally Elected Positions – 8 th February 2022
 Start of Campaign Period for Locally Elected Positions – 25 th March 2022
 End of Campaign Period for both Nationally & Locally Elected Positions – 7 th May 2022
 Voting period for Overseas Voters – 10 th April 2022 to 9 th May 2022
 Voting period for Local Absentee Voters in Philippines – 27 th April 2022 to 29 th April 2022
 Election Silence – 8 th May 2022
 Election Day/Voting for non-absentee voters of the Philippines – 9 th May 2022
 Counting period for City & Municipal Elections – 9 th May 2022 to 12 th May 2022
 Counting period for Provincial Elections & elections to decide Members of Congress – 10 th
May 2022 to 16 th May 2022
 Commencement of Office Term for Winning Candidates – 30 th June 2022

 End of Office Term for Winning Candidates of Local Offices & House Representatives – 30 th
June 2025
 End of Office Term for Winning Candidates of Presidential, Vice-Presidential & Senator
Elections – 30 th June 2028
According to the Constitution of the Philippines of 1987, the election is held every six years after
1992, on the second Monday of May. The incumbent president is term-limited. The incumbent
vice president may run for two consecutive terms. The first-past-the-post voting system is used
to determine the winner: the candidate with the highest number of votes, whether or not one has
a majority, wins the presidency. The vice-presidential election is separate, is held on the same
rules, and voters may split their ticket. If two or more candidates get the most votes for either
position, Congress shall vote from among them which shall be president or vice president, as the
case may be.
Ferdinand Marcos Jr. With experience serving as a senator, regional governor, and member of
the House of Representatives, Marcos Jr. is a well-established figure in Philippine politics.
Polling at 56 percent, Marcos Jr. has won extensive public support for several reasons. For one,
he is positioning himself as a saviour for a country battered economically by COVID-19. He is
also drawing on some degree of nostalgia for Ferdinand Marcos Sr.’s era from 1965 to 1986,
which some Filipinos see as better than the country’s current dire situation.
Leni Robredo. A former vice president, Robredo has made protecting democracy and fighting
graft the centrepieces of her campaign. She is trying to turn the public against the Marcos’s and
gain support of other small parties. Her rallies have been packed and her poll numbers have
creeped up slightly in recent months, but only to 24 percent, nowhere near Marcos Jr. Other
relatively minor candidates, such as boxing champion Manny Pacquiao and Manila Mayor
Francisco Moreno Domagoso have stayed in the race, which could draw votes from Robredo. In
2016, the unwillingness of Duterte’s major opponents to form a unified front and back one
candidate was one of the reasons he triumphed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *